The Reason I Go to Church

Standard

This summer has been the first time in 23 years when I have not had a church job. Since 1988 I’ve been on a church staff. For the first time in 23 years, I have not been responsible for leading Sunday morning worship, or making arrangements for someone else to lead in my absence.  It would have been very easy to not go to church at all. But for me, the conviction to go to church comes very simply. Its Hebrews 10:25.

“Let us not give up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but let us encourage one another—and all the more as you see the Day approaching.

That settles it for me. I should go to church because scripture admonishes me to do so. Its not a decision based on my feelings or my schedule, my likes or dislikes, my desires or pleasures, or my benefit or blessing. Its an act of obedience to the admonition of scripture.

Lets not let our culture tell us its ok to be somewhere else. We need to be in God’s house on Sunday. Its God’s desire, its for our good, and its good for others around us.

Leave a Reply

