Who’s in charge?

Standard

I’ve been enjoying new puppies! They are Jack and Bear (L to R) We’ve had them for about 4 months now, and I’ve enjoyed working with them teaching them to become obedient pets.

The training is going well. They seem to learn quickly and they are learning basic commands. The progress has some snags, though.

The problem I’m having  now is they don’t quite seem to understand “now.” They understand what I command them to do, but they will only do it if they want to do it. There is no sense that they should obey me regardless of what they want. I guess its all about who is the master. I’m trying to teach them that I’m the master and they should immediately obey my commands.

In my spiritual life, I have the same problem. I want to be the master. I suppose that’s the spiritual struggle we all face. Are we willing to let God be our master? Will we obey what He tells us to do or will we be our own master?

God’s Word is filled with things He wants us to do. He also has our best interest in heart. The things we should do in obedience to God are the things that will give us the abundant living He promises.

Let’s let Him be our Master today.

1 John 5:3: For this is the love of God, that we keep his commandments And His commandments are not burdensome.

Leave a Reply

